Posted by: reball | September 6, 2009

Up, Up, and Away!

balloons

I remember as a child in the summer evenings listening and looking for hot air balloons.  When one of us would spot that glorious sight we would all pile in the car and my mom would drive all over tarnations chasing those beautiful balloons.  Last evening my sister and I piled all of our children into her suburban and we were off.  The only difference was that this time it was for the take off instead of the landing …oh, and we were invited last night!

lift off

Our neighbor’s son-in-law is a hot air balloon pilot.  They held their annual balloon picnic last night and planned on filling the evening sky with ten stunning balloons!  We waited and watched patiently as these gigantic piles of cloth were filled  and magically stood in the air!  The kids loved it and I must admit so did I!  The anticipation for that moment when they lifted off the ground and went up, up, and away was quite a thrill!

The babies really enjoyed the bright colors but weren’t to fond of the sound!  We had a wonderful summer evening that I’m sure my nieces, nephew, sister, and I won’t soon forget!  Summer is drawing to an end as September days are here.  I leave you with a poem my grandma ingrained in all of us…

The golden-rod is yellow;
The corn is turning brown;
The trees in apple orchards
With fruit are bending down.

By all these lovely tokens
September days are here,
With autumns best of color and summers best of cheer!

Enjoy the remaining warm evenings and watch the evening skies for hot air balloons!  They are sure to bring a smile to anybody’s face! 

(I have to thank my sister for these pictures.  I’m still having trouble loading pictures from my camera to my computer!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

