Posted by: reball | October 19, 2009

Helplessness….

There is nothing like that feeling of being able to do nothing!  I guess maybe, it’s a chronic problem I have but I’m the type of person that must help.  That irritating idiot that thinks they can make anything better.  I’m sure you know the type.  “I am woman.  I can fix the world.”

Last night,  that motto came back to slap me in the face.  We’ve been dealing with a little bit of a cold in our house.  First, the youngest little turkey developed it which sent me into a bit of a tizzy.  I of course rushed him to see the pediatrician certain that with his fever and foul mood he must have an ear infection.  That turned out not to be the case and we were sent home with the diagnosis of allergies.   Yesterday, the oldest little turkey woke up with a runny nose, some coughing, and oodles of sneezing.  I didn’t want to over react so I tried to play it cool and brush it off with much restraint. 

We fed the boys, put them to bed, and I settled in to watch a movie.  Not 15 minutes later he awoke for the first time.  This continued until around 11:00 pm.  I kept putting him back to sleep and laying him in bed where he’d sleep a few minutes and then we started all over.  We tried all of the normal to do’s on the list for sick babies.  Yes, he had a low grade fever, I gave him medicine.   Daddy, propped the mattress up.  Etc. Etc.  But then it went down hill fast.  He was fit to be tied and so stuffed up that I was nervous.  He was coughing like a dog with a bone in his throat.  So, we spent most of the night in our “steam” room aka bathroom with shower on HOT!  Just me and my oldest turkey spending some quality mommy and son time. ( Or at least that’s what I’m going to call it in order to remain as sane as I currently am.)

I must admit though there is ABSOLUTELY nothing as scary or painful to this mama as not being able to take the hurt away from my babies!  I know, you are all shaking your heads thinking I should just wait.  It’s going to get worse.  I realize that but still…

Responses

  1. Bless your heart! I am happy to hear that they are both feeling better though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

