Posted by: reball | December 15, 2009

Over the river and through the field…

That’s right to find the perfect tree!  We spent a fabulous Saturday together as a family!  We took the boys (I’m trying to get in the habit of calling them boys not babies.  After, all they are almost 1!)  to breakfast at a local “greasy spoon” as my grandpa so affectionately called places of the sort!  They consumed an unbelievable amount of pancakes and then we were off through the countryside to the tree farm!

I loaded all 22 pounds of sugar onto my back and the twindaddy carried the other lump over fields, through forests, and up and down hills that felt like mountains, until we found a tree he thought suitable for our home.   I never thought him to be excessively particular about such adornments to our abode but, man was I wrong.  Not just any tree would suffice him!  We finally settled on a gigantic blue spruce.  I cautiously spoke my mind about the sheer size of this tree but alas it was loaded into our truck and it now sits proudly displayed in front of our window.  It is a beauty!  But, have I mentioned how large it is?!!!

I had purchased 400 twinkling little white lights earlier in the week to wrap our precious tree in thinking this would be in excess!  Oh, no the king of this castle thinks our tree needs to shine bright enough to be seen from the International Space Station!  Our tree is now weighed down with 600 lights and through his eyes could still use a few more!  The ornaments are proudly displayed above the reach of little fingers!

So, far the BOYS, not babies, are leaving it untouched.  This could be due to the fact that anytime they venture near it I let out a blood curdling “OUCH!”  at the top of my lungs.  Whatever, works though right?

I hope that your homes are brimming with holiday cheer and jolly souls!  My cup runneth over with the love and peace I feel with my contented family and our beacon of light!

Leave a Reply

Categories

