Posted by: reball | January 31, 2010

The recipe that changed me…

I’ve decided that although my life with twin boys is strenuous, taxing, hilarious, and for the most part joyful…some days I truly need to escape!

I don’t mean wild escapades to movies alone or trips abroad.  Just those few minutes that put my mind back into a state of normalcy.  For me those minutes are when I’m engulfed in a book (which I never have time for anymore) or when I’m whipping something up in the kitchen.  I truly love to bake and create. 

The boys have both been suffering from ear aches, colds, fevers, etc.  which means that they aren’t sleeping or very happy.  I’ve really been needing to step away from my “life”.  I’m sure that you have noticed all the recipes I’ve been posting lately! 

Today, I’m going to share with you a concoction that may just change your lives…and possibly your pant size!  These would be a perfect gift for Valentine’s Day or any other special occasion!  They are a little morsel of perfection!  Cookie Dough Truffles!  The recipe contains no eggs so they are completely food safe! Here’s the recipe-

Cookie Dough Truffles
1 C Butter, Softened
3/4 C Sugar
3/4 C Brown Sugar
1/3 C Milk
1 t Vanilla Extract
2 1/2 C Flour
1 t Salt
1 C Peanut Butter Chips
1/2 C Chocolate Chunks (I like to chunk my own from a block )
1 lb Milk Chocolate Melting Wafers
1/2 C Peanut Butter Melting Wafers
Colored Wafers for decorating if you’d like
 
Cream together the butter and sugars until fluffy.  Add milk, vanilla, flour, & salt.  Combine.  Stir in the chips and chunks.  Roll dough into truffle sized balls.  I made mine about the size of a large marble.  Chill in freezer for 30 minutes. 
Combine milk chocolate and peanut butter wafers in a small microwave safe bowl.  Microwave for  1 minute (stir often!)  followed by 20 second intervals until all chocolate is melted.  Dip balls and place on parchment lined sheet.  Decorate with other colors if you’re feeling festive.  The easiest way to do so is to place melted chocolate in a zipper bag and snip a small corner off. 
Responses

  1. They sound divine! We’re right there with you with the cold, fever, ear ache, etc but my stepping away for a minute was a lot simpler. I made chocolate chip cookies yesterday and just that little time by myself in the kitchen definitely helped.

  2. These are delicious! Thanks for the recipe and good luck curing those fevers and colds. Think spring!

  3. They look wonderful!

  4. Those look delicious! Thanks for sharing! I hope your boys are feeling better today!


Leave a Reply

Categories

