Posted by: reball | February 12, 2010

Kool Valentine’s

At this point the boys aren’t big enough to handle making their very own Valentine’s.  I decided that even though they can’t make them –  I wanted them to have something to give their cousins!  So, we gathered in the kitchen. They ran joyously through the place wreaking havoc wherever they could.  I know it’s horrible but we don’t spend a lot of time “free” in the kitchen!

We/I made Kool-Aid Play Dough.  It happens to be a favorite of all the wee people in my life.  To celebrate the Valentine season I chose Pink Lemonade and Red Tropical Punch.  It’s a very simple recipe that requires basic ingredients.  It also has the added benefit of being non-toxic although I really wouldn’t want to eat that much salt!  I packaged it with my vacuum sealer but any zipper bags would work! In order to make it more of a gift from the boys I attached a picture of each of them.  I figured since they can’t sign their own names it was fitting!

Here’s the recipe – I hope you make it for any little ones you have in your life!

Kool Aid Play Dough
2 C Flour
1 C Salt
2 T Oil
3 Pkg Kool Aid (unsweetened)
2 C Boiling Water
Combine all ingredients and stir with a spoon until mixture becomes to stiff to continue.  You will need to knead (lol) the dough until it becomes soft and pliable.  CAUTION:  mixture will still be quite warm!  Just be careful.  It is okay to allow it to cool a few minutes until you can handle it!  My hands are kind of iron-clad but seriously, please be careful!
 
Store in airtight container.  It’s great fun and brings back memories of childhood!
Responses

  1. Oh I made this when my kids were little. I may have to make some for my kindergarten home school class that starts in a couple of weeks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

