Posted by: reball | March 23, 2010

Opinionated Little Eaters

I’ve been struggling to find foods that the boys are willing to eat.  It seems absolutely ridiculous that they are so picky when it comes to vegetables and fruit. They are only 15 months old for Pete’s sake!   I love almost all fruits and veggies.  They have differing opinions on their tastes already!  Their father is also an extremely picky eater!  I don’t even want to consider the possibility that this is an inherited trait!

So, what do you think?  Is food preference a strictly personal behavior based on likes and dislikes or could it be inherited?  I guess ultimately it doesn’t really matter!  I can’t force them to eat anything.

I am however, getting a little smarter.  I realized that they hate the taste of bananas whether in the form of mashed, pudding, etc.  but they do like banana bread.  I decided to try incorporating carrots instead of bananas to see if that might still please their palates.  It was a home run!  A snack treat my toddlers adore!

I couldn’t find a recipe that sounded quite right so I adapted a couple and put my own spin on them.  Here’s the recipe:

Carrot Bread
¾ cups Pear Or Apple Sauce
⅓ cups Vegetable Oil
½ cups Brown Sugar
¼ cups Sour Cream
4 whole Eggs Beaten
3 teaspoons Cinnamon
½ teaspoons Nutmeg
2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 cup All-purpose Flour
1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
3 cups Carrots, Grated
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a bread pan.
 
Stir together the pear/apple sauce, oil, brown sugar, sour cream, and eggs until well combined.  Sift together cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, baking soda, and flours. Slowly add to the egg mixture. Stir until just combined. Gently fold in the carrots. Pour into the greased bread pan and bake for 60 – 65 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. 
 
For the boys I simply slice and then cube the bread.  It’s easy for little fingers to pick up and enjoy!
Responses

  1. That looks delicious!

    I’m curious to see how picky my little guy is at that age. (which will be in late summer) I will say though that you are now the third person in the past 2 wks that have said their little ones are picky eaters and they are all right around the same age! I hope it will pass in time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

