Posted by: reball | April 16, 2010

Homemade Granola Bars

This is another recipe I’ve adapted for my picky little eaters. They are a soft granola texture that is great for little ones!  You can definitely play around with the ingredients and make substitutions to please your own palate.  I have pear sauce that I canned last summer so I’m inclined to use it wherever I can!  I also had raspberries in the freezer from our garden last year too!  This would also be great with raisins, cranberries, blueberries, cherries, etc.  Nuts might also be a tasty addition although the boys can’t really manage eating them yet!  I hope you enjoy!

Raspberry Pear Granola Bars
2 cups Quick Oats
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1/2 cup Wheat Germ
1 cup White Whole Wheat Flour
3/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon Salt
 
Stir together.  Add the following:
 
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup Honey
1/4 cup Oil
3/4 cup Pear Sauce (or Applesauce)
2 teaspoons Vanilla
1 cup frozen Raspberries (slightly thawed)
Mix together until you reach a consistent wet texture.  Press into a greased 9×13 pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Cut while warm. 

Responses

  1. Bet you’ll also have raspberries in your freezer this year…and the next year…and the next…and the next…
    🙂

  2. Sounds good! Here is a no-oil pear granola recipe that I developed:

    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/michaels-honey-pear-granola-with-pistachios/


Leave a comment

Categories